Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Open Sourcing the Deepworld Project

JusticeGamingJusticeGaming Doing cool programming thingsPosts: 1,019Member
Me, and several other people are deeply saddened to know a game we grew up around is coming to a close.
Deepworld was a huge inspiration to me and is one of the core things that led me into the world of video game development and more specifically, programming. I studied game programming through college and I now work for quite a large company and it's a ton of fun and it's mostly all thanks to Deepworld for showing me why making a game is a ton of fun, but also hard to manage when going for the long term without the time.

With all of that said, I would really like to ask Mike to consider uploading and open sourcing the Deepworld project to GitHub.

Why?
Mostly because I would like to revise it and understand how it handles it's architecture and data basing, it would give me a huge insight into how the inner workings were put together and how things worked. I could technically decompile the C# side of everything with a open source project like dnSpy but I'd much rather have the project to review(legally). TLDR; I would like to learn from it seeing as it started in another software and was ported over to Unity quite seamlessly and somehow able to manage cross software development while running an active server with millions(?) of users and their accounts safely stored and working realtime.